Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Excited To Read In 2017

January 3: Top Ten Books I’m Excited To Read In 2017
This week’s topic was Top Ten 2017 Debuts I’m Excited For, but as I’m notoriously bad at reading debut novels, particularly when they are newly released, instead I plumped for a list of ten books I’m excited to read this year. I’ve included an equal mix of YA and adult novels, as I want to try and diversify my reading somewhat this year.

1. Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland
“A bittersweet, funny, sad story of friendship, first love, and heartache, all rolled into one spellbinding tale, from a stunning debut novelist. For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and E. Lockhart.” Sold.

2. Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield
This is a novel I know little to nothing about, but I saw it appear time and time again on bloggers best books of 2016 lists, so I bought it. It has been pitched along the lines of We Were Liars, which I loved, so I’m hopeful.

3. Monsters by Emerald Fennell
I heard the author talk on a panel at YALC last year about this novel, and it sounds like it challenges perceptions and boundaries, so I’m in.

4. Everything Leads To You by Nina Lacour
In 2017, I want to read more LGBT (and POC) literature, and this novel centres on the former; it’s also been recommended to me so many times, so I need to see what the hype is all about.

5. The Miseducation Of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth
This LGBT novel sounds so interesting: an ultra conservative grandmother and a girl who falls in love with her best friend in a religious setting.

6. The Martian by Andy Weir
I’ve had this novel for an age, but I finally watched the movie last week and I loved it, so I now really want to read the book.

7. The Hitch Hikers Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams
This novel is on the BBC’s Big Read list, but it’s only lately that I’ve had the urge to read it. Humorous sci-fi sounds an intriguing prospect.

8. After You by Jojo Moyes
I read, and loved, Me Before You last year, but for some reason the sequel has just been sitting on my shelf for the past six months: I think it’s partly because the first novel tore my heart out and it’s taken some time to piece it back together.

9. Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult
My Granny mentioned this book a couple of months ago, so I bought her and me copies for Christmas. It’s been pitched as a modern day To Kill A Mockingbird, so I’m sold.

10. Nod by Adrian Barnes
This novel was recommended to me by my good friend Alice, and I trust her book judgement implicitly. It sounds like a thoroughly gripping thriller, which is right up my street.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Check out their blog and get involved!

For more content, visit @charlottebibliophile on Goodreads, Instagram and YouTube

This entry was posted in General Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Excited To Read In 2017

  1. I really liked After You, even though it didn’t live up to the heart wrenching ending of Me Before You. I think it’s a nice closer for that series, and I highly recommend checking out Jojo’s other books in the meantime. I’ve recommended the Miseducation of Cameron Post to a lot of people while working in LGBTQ activism at my university, but it is a heavy book at times, so don’t worry if you have to put it down once in a while. You might also enjoy When the Moon Was Ours if you’re looking for more LGBTQ-themed books (and haven’t already read that one.) Great list for this week overall! 🙂

  2. I highly recommend Small Great Things. Picoult really did a wonderful job tackling modern day racism and prejudice. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s