Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books To Read If You Like YA, But Want To Explore Adult Fiction

September 29Top Ten Books To Read If You Like YA, But Want To Explore Adult Fiction
If you love reading YA fiction but want to explore more adult fiction, thanks to this weeks TTT, I have compiled a list of ten different YA novels spanning genres and an adult recommendation for each, accompanied by three reasons why for each. It works both ways – if you read more adult fiction and want to jump on the YA bandwagon, hopefully this post will give you some pointers about where to start.

IMG_3016

1.  If you loved The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, read The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Why: 
falling in love, loss, journey

2. If you loved We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, read The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks
Why: 
loss, hideaway, belief

3. If you loved Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, read Marley & Me by John Grogan
Why: 
friendship, loyalty, discovery

4. If you loved Divergent by Veronica Roth, read Killing Floor by Lee Child
Why: 
action packed, hero, mystery

5. If you loved Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson, read The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
Why: 
road trip, falling in love, funny

6. If you loved Twilight by Stephenie Meyer, read The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
Why: 
complex characters, mystery, small-town setting

7. If you loved Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan, read The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith
Why: 
mystery, friendship, uncovering the truth

8. If you loved Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, read Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher
Why: 
falling in love, heartache, European capital city settings

9. If you loved The Maze Runner by James Dashner, read Angels and Demons by Dan Brown
Why: 
adventure, symbols, death

10. If you loved Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, read P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern
Why: 
friendship, bravery, journey

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Check out their blog and get involved!

My journey will also be instagrammed frequently on @charlottebibliophile

This entry was posted in General Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books To Read If You Like YA, But Want To Explore Adult Fiction

  1. I didn’t like The Casual Vacancy as much as I enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling, but they’re both pretty interesting books–plenty of conflict, complexity, and well-written. Cuckoo’s Calling has more likable characters, though!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s